Register for the 2018 Penguin Random House FYE® Conference Author Events!

By Sara Clemens | September 28 2017 | First-Year Reading

Click Here to RSVP for the PRH Author Events at the 37th Annual First-Year Experience® Conference in San Antonio, TX, February 10-13, 2018fye conference author events 1fye conference author events 2

RSVP Now!

 

A novel
978-0-451-49358-3
Fiction - Literary
Fiction - War & Military
Fiction - Dystopian
"Powerful....As haunting a postapocalyptic universe as Cormac McCarthy [created] in The Road, and as devastating a look as the fallout that national events have on an American family as Philip Roth did in The Plot Against America....Omar El Akkad’s debut novel, American War, is an unlikely mash-up of unsparing war reporting and plot elements familiar to readers of the recent young-adult dystopian series The Hunger Games and Divergent."—Michiko Kakutani, The New York Times
$26.95 US
Apr 04, 2017
6-1/4 x 9-1/4
Hardcover
352 Pages
Knopf
US, Opn Mkt (no CAN)

Stories of Inequality in a Divided Nation
978-0-14-313103-8
Literary Collections - Essays
Social Science - Poverty & Homelessness
Fiction - Political
Some of the literary world's most exciting writers—including Anthony Doerr, Ann Patchett, Roxane Gay, Rebecca Solnit, Hector Tobar, Joyce Carol Oates, Edwidge Danticat, Richard Russo, Eula Bliss, Karen Russell, and many more—look beyond numbers and wages to convey what it feels like to live in this divided nation.
$17.00 US | $23.00 CAN
Sep 05, 2017
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Paperback
352 Pages
Penguin Books
US, Canada, Open Mkt

Two Young Migrants and the Making of an American Life
978-1-101-90618-7
Social Science - Emigration & Immigration
Social Science - Ethnic Studies - Hispanic American Studies
Biography & Autobiography - Cultural Heritage
The deeply reported story of identical twin brothers who escape El Salvador's violence to build new lives in California—fighting to survive, to stay, and to belong.
$27.00 US | $36.00 CAN
Sep 12, 2017
6-1/8 x 9-1/4
Hardcover
320 Pages
Crown
US, Canada, Open Mkt

A Novel
978-0-525-50971-4
Fiction - Literary
Fiction - Cultural Heritage
Fiction - Family Life
In the vein of Amy Tan and Khaled Hosseini comes a compulsively readable debut novel about marriage, immigration, class, race, and the trapdoors in the American Dream—the unforgettable story of a young Cameroonian couple making a new life in New York just as the Great Recession upends the economy.
$17.00 US | $23.00 CAN
Jun 26, 2017
5-3/16 x 8
Paperback
416 Pages
Random House Trade Paperbacks
US, Canada, Open Mkt

A True Story of Survival and Obsession in the West
978-1-101-90278-3
Nature - Animals - Wolves
History - United States - State & Local - West (Ak, Ca, Co, Hi, Id, Mt, Nv, Ut, Wy)
Biography & Autobiography - Environmentalists & Naturalists
The intimate, involving story of the rise and reign of O-Six, the fabled Yellowstone wolf, and the people who loved or feared her.
$28.00 US
Oct 17, 2017
6-1/8 x 9-1/4
Hardcover
320 Pages
Crown
US, Opn Mkt (no CAN)

Dispatches from the Border
978-0-7352-1771-3
Biography & Autobiography - Cultural Heritage
Political Science - Public Policy - Immigration
Biography & Autobiography - Personal Memoirs
A former Border patrol agent's haunting experience of an unnatural divide and the lives caught on either side, struggling to cross or to defend it. "A beautiful, fiercely honest, and nevertheless deeply empathetic look at those who police the border and the migrants who risk—and lose—their lives crossing it. In a time of often ill-informed or downright deceitful political rhetoric, this book is an invaluable corrective."—Phil Klay, author of Redeployment
$26.00 US | $35.00 CAN
Feb 06, 2018
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Hardcover
256 Pages
Riverhead Books
US, Canada, Open Mkt

The Existential Threat of Big Tech
978-1-101-98111-5
Political Science - Political Process - Media & Internet
Social Science - Media Studies
History - United States - 21St Century
Franklin Foer reveals the existential threat posed by big tech, and in his brilliant polemic gives us the toolkit to fight their pervasive influence. "World Without Mind is an argument in the spirit of those brave democracy protestors who stand alone before tanks. Franklin Foer asks us to unplug and think....His book is a vital response to digital utopianism at a time when we desperately need new ethics for social media."—Steve Coll, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Ghost Wars
$27.00 US | $36.00 CAN
Sep 12, 2017
6 x 9
Hardcover
272 Pages
Penguin Press
US, Canada, Open Mkt

978-1-101-97106-2
Fiction - African American - Historical
Fiction - Sagas
Fiction - Literary
The unforgettable New York Times best seller begins with the story of two half-sisters, separated by forces beyond their control: one sold into slavery, the other married to a British slaver. Written with tremendous sweep and power, Homegoing traces the generations of family who follow, as their destinies lead them through two continents and three hundred years of history, each life indelibly drawn, as the legacy of slavery is fully revealed in light of the present day.
$16.00 US
May 02, 2017
5-3/16 x 8
Paperback
320 Pages
Vintage
US, Opn Mkt (no CAN)

978-1-59463-401-7
Social Science - Popular Culture
Psychology - History
Psychology - Interpersonal Relations
For three years Jon Ronson, author of The Psychopath Test, traveled the world meeting people whose mistakes or lapses in judgment were met with a firestorm of collective outrage enabled by social media—often with profound consequences on their lives. In So You've Been Publicly Shamed, he explores their stories and delivers and incisive critique of modern-day shaming as a form of social control and as a war on human nature and its flaws.
$16.00 US | $21.00 CAN
Mar 29, 2016
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Paperback
336 Pages
Riverhead Books
US,CAN,OpnMkt(no EU)

Finding Fulfillment in a World Obsessed with Happiness
978-0-553-44656-2
Self-Help - Personal Growth - General
Philosophy - Ethics & Moral Philosophy
Psychology - Emotions
To explore how we can craft lives of meaning, Emily Esfahani Smith synthesizes a kaleidoscopic array of sources—from psychologists, sociologists, philosophers, and neuroscientists to figures in literature and history such as George Eliot, Viktor Frankl, Aristotle, and the Buddha. Drawing on this research, Smith shows us how cultivating connections to others, identifying and working toward a purpose, telling stories about our place in the world, and seeking out mystery can immeasurably deepen our lives.
$16.00 US
Sep 05, 2017
5-3/16 x 8
Paperback
320 Pages
Broadway Books
US, Opn Mkt (no CAN)

A Photographer's Life of Love and War
978-0-14-312841-0
Biography & Autobiography - Personal Memoirs
Biography & Autobiography - Artists, Architects, Photographers
Photography - Photojournalism
War photographer Lynsey Addario has traveled to every major theater of war of the 21st century to document the conflicts that have made, and remade, our world. In this inspirational memoir she explores her role as a photojournalist who documents not only the news, but also the fate of society. "[An] unflinching memoir. [Addario’s] book, woven through with images from her travels, offers insight into international events and the challenges faced by the journalists who capture them."—The Washington Post
$18.00 US | $24.00 CAN
Nov 08, 2016
5-1/2 x 8-7/16
Paperback
368 Pages
Penguin Books
US, Canada, Open Mkt

A Novel
978-0-14-310927-3
Fiction - Literary
Fiction - Family Life
Fiction - Coming Of Age
"Like a Russian novel set in India, Karan Mahajan's Association of Small Bombs has the sweep, wisdom and sensibility of the old masters. Here the humor of Bulgakov and the heart of Pasternak deliver an exploded-view of a small bomb that goes off in a minor market in a corner of South Delhi. Like shrapnel, themes of suffering, dislocation and redemption radiate from the blast, and none will be spared Mahajan's piercing gaze. Urgent and masterful, this novel shows us how bystander, bomber, victim, and survivor will forever share a patch of scorched ground."—Adam Johnson, author of The Orphan Master’s Son
$16.00 US | $22.00 CAN
Oct 18, 2016
5-1/2 x 8-7/16
Paperback
288 Pages
Penguin Books
US, Canada, Open Mkt

The Incredible Story of How Antibiotics Created Modern Agriculture and Changed the Way the World Eats
978-1-4262-1766-1
Social Science - Agriculture&Food (See Also Political Science-Public Policy-Agriculture&Food Policy)
Technology & Engineering - Food Science
Science - Life Sciences - Virology
In this eye-opening exposé, acclaimed health journalist and National Geographic contributor Maryn McKenna documents how antibiotics transformed chicken from local delicacy to industrial commodity and human health threat, unveiling the ways we can make America's favorite meat safer again.
$27.00 US | $36.00 CAN
Sep 12, 2017
6 x 9
Hardcover
400 Pages
National Geographic
World except UK/Ireland

Brothers, Horses, Cartels, and the Borderland Dream
978-0-8129-8960-1
Social Science - Emigration & Immigration
True Crime - Organized Crime
Sports & Recreation - Horse Racing
A cinematic true-crime story set at the Mexican-American border about two very different brothers whose lives intertwine in an FBI drug investigation and a champion race horse.
$28.00 US | $37.00 CAN
Aug 08, 2017
6-1/8 x 9-1/8
Hardcover
352 Pages
One World
US, Canada, Open Mkt