The Author of The Blue Sweater on Our Interconnected World and Combatting Poverty Worldwide

Contributed by Jacqueline Novogratz, author of The Blue Sweater: Bridging the Gap Between Rich and Poor in an Interconnected World. Chronicling her first stumbling efforts as a young idealist to understand global poverty and find powerful new ways of tackling it through the creation of the trailblazing organization she runs today, this book is a

Read more

How an Afghan Girl Risked Everything for Education

Contributed by Malaina Kapoor, co-author of Defiant Dreams: The Journey of an Afghan Girl Who Risked Everything for Education. A searing, deeply personal memoir of a tenacious Afghan girl who educated herself behind closed doors and fought her way to a new life, the book has received advance praise from Bill Gates, Sal Khan, and

Read more

Adam Benforado on Youth Rights and the Path to a Better Future

Contributed by Adam Benforado, author of A Minor Revolution: How Prioritizing Kids Benefits Us All. Drawing on the latest research on the value of early intervention, investment, and empowerment, A Minor Revolution makes the urgent case for putting children first—in our budgets and policies, in how we develop products and enact laws, and in our

Read more

NOW AVAILABLE: Books from The 1619 Project

The 1619 Project is The New York Times Magazine’s award-winning reframing of American history that placed slavery and its continuing legacy at the center of our national narrative. The project, which was initially launched in August of 2019, offered a revealing new origin story for the United States, one that helped explain not only the persistence of

Read more

You’re Invited: Join Us for a Big Ideas Night on the Crucial, Timely Topic of Criminal Justice Reform

Join us on Wednesday, October 21 at 8:00 PM ET on Zoom for a crucial, timely Big Ideas Night on Criminal Justice Reform with a panel of expert authors: Brittany K. Barnett, attorney, entrepreneur, and author of A Knock at Midnight: A Story of Hope, Justice, and Freedom; Emily Bazelon, New York Times Magazine staff writer and author of Charged: The New Movement to Transform American Prosecution and End

Read more

10,000 New Social Housing Units – Thanks to Matthew Desmond’s EVICTED

Tom Barrett, Mayor of Milwaukee, read Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City, which tells the story of eight impoverished families in his city who are threatened with forced eviction. Influenced by this multi-award-winning book, Barrett is launching an ambitious housing project to build or renovate 10,000 housing units in Milwaukee over the next

Read more

SALT TO THE SEA is Now in Paperback!

We’re so excited to see Ruta Sepetys’s latest masterful historical fiction title, Salt to the Sea, is out in paperback! Salt to the Sea is an emotionally wrought, epic WWII-era novel that shines a light on one of the war’s most devastating–yet unknown–tradgedies. Perfect for readers of Between Shades of Gray and All the Light We Cannot Sea, Ruta

Read more

Sister Helen Prejean and DEAD MAN WALKING teaching kit from DePaul University Library

DePaul University Library’s Special Collections and Archives recently created a teaching kit for Dead Man Walking: The Eyewitness Account of the Death Penalty That Sparked a National Debate by Sister Helen Prejean. The library houses Prejean’s papers and twenty primary sources were selected for the kit to deepen the reading experience.   Developed by members of DePaul’s College of Education, the

Read more

“Solving Illegal Immigration [For Real]:” ENRIQUE’S JOURNEY Author Sonia Nazario’s Ideas for Fixing a Broken System

In a new Ted Talk entitled “Solving Illegal Immigration [For Real],” decorated journalist and author Sonia Nazario suggests an alternative method to naturalization or heavy border policing to stem the flow of undocumented individuals into the United States. Nazario boasts a long and impressive writing career, during which she has shown immense dedication to featuring

Read more

Videos from the 2017 First-Year Experience® Conference Are Now Available

  If you were one of the many in attendance at the First-Year Experience® conference in Atlanta this past  February, you might have joined us at one of our events showcasing authors and books ideal for common reading. If you or your colleagues didn’t make it, or if you would like to watch the talks

Read more

“Genius” Grant Winner Matthew Desmond on Eviction, Poverty and Profit in the American City

By Matthew Desmond, author of Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City (Crown, March 2016) I began this project because I wanted to write a different kind of book about poverty in America. Instead of focusing exclusively on poor people or poor places, I began searching for a process that involved poor and well-off

Read more