SALT TO THE SEA is Now in Paperback!

By Rachel Wease | August 11 2017 | Community & School Reads Kids Community & School Reads Kids: Fiction Community & School Reads Kids: Historical Fiction General

We’re so excited to see Ruta Sepetys’s latest masterful historical fiction title, Salt to the Sea, is out in paperback!

Salt to the Sea is an emotionally wrought, epic WWII-era novel that shines a light on one of the war’s most devastating–yet unknown–tradgedies.

Perfect for readers of Between Shades of Gray and All the Light We Cannot Sea, Ruta Sepetys takes readers on a harrowing journey through East Prussia as thousands of refugees trek toward freedom as World War II draws to a close. Among these refugess are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer to safety.

Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people–adults and children alike–aboard the Wilhelm Gustloff must fight for the same thing: survival.

Salt to the Sea is a New York Times bestseller, the winner of the Carnegie Medal, and the recipient of three starred reviews.

Download the discussion guide to this fantastic novel here.

978-0-14-242362-2
Young Adult Fiction - Historical - Europe
Young Adult Fiction - Historical - Military & Wars
Young Adult Fiction - Action & Adventure - Survival Stories
The New York Times bestseller! All the Light We Cannot See meets Titanic in this emotionally wrought, masterful work of historical fiction from award-winning and internationally bestselling author Ruta Sepetys, in a gorgeous new paperback package.
$10.99 US | $14.99 CAN
Aug 01, 2017
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Paperback
448 Pages
Penguin Books
Age 12 and up
Grade 7 & Up
US, Canada, Open Mkt