FENWAY AND HATTIE Global Read Aloud!

By Trevor Ingerson | October 13 2017 | Community & School Reads Kids Community & School Reads Kids: Fiction General

The 2017 Global Read Aloud kicked off this month and features Victoria J. Coe’s Fenway and Hattie for its early reader selection! The Global Read Aloud aims to connect teachers and students across the globe by reading aloud the same book during a set 6-week period.  The project started on October 2nd and runs until November 10th, 2017.

Fenway and Hattie introduces readers to Fenway, an excitable and endlessly energetic Jack Russell terrier. He lives in the city with Food Lady, Fetch Man, and–of course–his beloved short human and best-friend-in-the-world, Hattie. But when his family moves to the suburbs, Fenway faces a world of changes. He’s pretty pleased with the huge Dog Park behind his new home, but he’s not so happy about the Evil Squirrels that taunt him from the trees, the super-slippery Wicked Floor in the Eating Room, and the changes that seem to have come over Hattie lately. She seems more interested in her new short human friend, Angel, and learning to play baseball than him! His friends in the Dog Park next door say Hattie is outgrowing him, but that can’t be right. And he’s going to prove it!

The first book in this lovable new series introduces a little dog with a GIANT personality—perfect for fans of One School, One Book favorite, The World According to Humphrey!

The schedule for Fenway and Hattie’s Global Read Aloud is below and you can follow along on social media by checking out the hashtag, #GRAFenway.

Week 1 – Chapters 1-3 (26 pages)

Week 2 – Chapters 4-6 (24 pages)

Week 3 – Chapters 7-9 ( 27 pages)

Week 4 – Chapters 10-12 (23 pages)

Week 5 – Chapters 13-16 (31 pages)

Week 6 – Chapters 17-20 (25 pages)

Download the classroom discussion guide here.

978-0-14-751490-5
Juvenile Fiction - Animals - Dogs
Juvenile Fiction - Humorous Stories
Juvenile Fiction - Lifestyles - Country Life
This lovable new series introduces a little dog with a GIANT personality--perfect for fans of The World According to Humphrey!
$7.99 US | $10.99 CAN
Jan 03, 2017
5-1/16 x 7-3/4
Paperback
192 Pages
Puffin Books
Age 8-12 years
Grades 3-7
US, Canada, Open Mkt